Like my mother

Dear God, I think once the lecture is over and I’m the only one standing in the courtyard of the physics building, I do not ask you to lighten my burden, just to give me a stronger back. I start walking up the small hill towards the library. You made me wild, like my mother. You made me strong, like my mother. You gave me an entire world of possibilities and my mother gave me the courage to pursue them.

Later, hours and hours and hours later I lay in bed and I think: Dear God, you made my mother with iron bones, lion’s teeth, and a soul of steel. You gave her a brave heart and tested her time and time again. Dear God, thank you.

Thank you for making me a thunderstorm, like my mother.

Thank you for making me a warm summer night, like my mother. 

Thank you. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

